Current Policy Priorities and Activities

The Voice of Australia’s Exporters

The Export Council of Australia (ECA) is the only membership body in Australia focused on the needs of companies involved in international business.

One of the key benefits of membership is our ability to influence policy to make it simpler and cheaper for you to do business internationally.

The ECA is a respected and influential voice on trade policy. Our strong relationships with key ministers, shadow ministers and senior public servants help us shape policy in a way that benefits our members and Australia’s international business community.

Each year, the ECA releases annual Trade Policy Recommendations for the Australian Government. These recommendations are driven by the needs of our members. They are developed in consultation with members, industry, and the ECA’s network of trade policy experts.

The ECA also makes submissions to parliamentary and other inquiries that relate to international business.
In addition to the federal government, we regularly engage with state, territory and local governments, as well as foreign governments, to advance the interests of our members.

Informing Australian trade policy

The ECA plays an active role in advocating on behalf of Australian companies. We are represented on the following Boards, Consultative Committees and Forums working together with all Governments and Industry to form influential advocacy alliances that ensure our members are at the forefront of all trade issues - through our responsive operational support, skills development training, industry updates, commercial services and corporate events:

  • Services Export Working Group – Services Competition Section - Dept of Foreign Affairs
  • Peak Industry Body Consultations – CHCH Group - Dept of Foreign Affairs
  • Joint National Committee on Trade Facilitation (NCTF) Australian Border Force
  • Trade Facilitation Initiatives Working Group (TWIWG) Australian Border Force
  • Dept of Ag Cargo Consultative Committee (DCCC) – Dept of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
  • Non-Tariff Barriers Information Group (NTB) – Dept of Foreign Affairs
  • Customs Advisory Board – Australian Border Force (Dianne Tipping ABF Commissioner appointee)
  • Compliance Advisory Group (CAG) – Australian Border Force
  • Air Cargo Security Industry Advisory Forum - (ACSIAF) Aviation Security Branch - Department of Home Affairs
  • Legislative Matters sub-committee – (NCTF) – Australian Border Force
  • Regulatory Reform sub-committee – (NCTF) – Australian Border Force
  • Office of Transport Security (OTS) International Working Group - Dept Home Affairs
  • Office of Transport Security (OTS) Domestic Working Group – Dept of Home Affairs
  • Biosecurity Imports Levy Industry Steering Group - Dept of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
  • Australian Trusted Trader Industry Advisory Group (IAG) - Australian Border Force
  • Trade Information Service - Industry Reference Group (TIS) - Austrade
  • Industry Advisory Committee (IAC) for the Department of Maritime and Logistics Management, National Centre for Ports and Shipping of the Australian Maritime College, University of Tasmania


Join Us

Become A Member

Ed Serrano
Managing Director,
VEKTA Advanced Automation
Member of the ECA

Become a Member
Online Going Global